CLASS EIGHT

VEHICLE REGISTRATION, EMISSION AND SAFETY INSPECTION

 

1.In Utah what Division handles the registration of Motor Vehicles?

Answer:  Division of Motor Vehicle (DMV)

2.What vehicles must be registered

Cars, Watercraft, trucks, off-highway vehicles, trailers, snowmobiles, campers, aircraft, motorcycles, low speed electric vehicles

3.What Division handles Utah Driver License and ID’s

Driver License Division (DLD)

4. Who must register their vehicles in Utah?

 

    1. Utah residents
    2. Non-residents using their watercraft in Utah for more than 60 days per year must be register in Utah

5. What are the items you need to register a vehicle in Utah?

 

    1. Most recent registration
    2. Title
    3. Utah safety inspection certificate
    4. Utah emission certificate
    5. Serial number (VIN) Inspections       
    6. Property Tax Clearance
    7. Application for Registration/Title

    6. After completion of the vehicle registration process, what will be issued to you?

    1. Registration certificate
    2. Plate Number
    3. Decals

7. What must the owner of a vehicle do after selling his or her vehicle?

    Answer:  Return the vehicle license plate to the DMV

8. How often are you required by law to renew your car registration?

Every 12 months

9. Vehicle registration renewals may be completed through a number of options, name them:

  1. Mail
  2. Internet
  3. On the spot stations
  4. DMV office
10. It is illegal to drive any vehicle which is in an unsafe condition or which does not have the equipment required by law.

11. You have the responsibility to maintain your vehicle in a safe operating condition

12. You must verify the safety of your vehicle once every two years if the vehicle model year is less than eight (8) years old

13. You must verify the safety of your vehicle once every year if the vehicle model is more than 8 years old.

14. What are Utah Safety and Emission Law?
  1. The main purpose of the safety inspection program is to minimize or eliminate vehicle defects and prevent unsafe vehicles from operating on a Utah roads and highways.
  2. The need for an annual inspection also increases your awareness of the steps which result in a quality inspection.

DOES MY VEHICLE NEED EMISSION AND INSPECTIONS?

Using the charts below, you may check to see if your vehicle is required or not for emission or inspection or both depending on the year of your vehicle

CURRENTLY


Model Year

Emission

Safety

2012

Required

Required

2011

Not Required

Not Required

2010

Required

Required

2009

Not Required

Not Required

2008

Required

Required

2007

Not Required

Not Required

2006

Required

Required

2005

Required

Not Required

2004-1968

Required

Required

1967-Older

Not Required

Required

 

AFTER OCTOBER 1ST, 2012


Model Year

Emission

Safety

2012

Not Required

Required

2011

Not Required

Not Required

2010

Required

Required

2009

Not Required

Not Required

2008

Required

Required

2007

Not Required

Not Required

2006

Required

Required

2005

Required

Required

2004-1968

Required

Required

1967-Older

Not Required

Required

 

STARTING JANUARY 1ST, 2013


Model Year

Emission

Safety

2013

Not Required

Not Required

2012

Not Required

Not Required

2011

Required

Required

2010

Not Required

Not Required

2009

Required

Required

2008

Not Required

Not Required

2007

Required

Not Required

2006

Required

Not Required

2005

Required

Required

2004

Required

Not Required

2004 – 1968

Required

Required

1967 – Older

Not Required

Required

LASS VIDEOS\Safety and Emissions\Safety and Emissions Testing_ Is It Necessary_.wmv

CLASS VIDEOS\Safety and Emissions\Emissions and Smog Testing, Safety Inspections_ Hillside Tire Auto Repair Service Salt Lake What are the Inspection Checklist?

     

    1. Brakes  - Visual and computerized plate brake inspection
    2. Tires
    3. Exhaust system
    4. Steering
    5. Headlights
    6. Tail Lights, stop lights, and turn signals
    7. Windshield and windows
    8. Windshield wipers
    9. Mirrors
    10. Fuel system
    11. Muffler
    12. Safety glass

\CLAWhat is Property Tax Clearance?

    1. All vehicles in Utah are subject to either an age-based fee or uniform fee of 1.5 or 1.0 percent of the fair market value of the vehicle.
    2. The appropriate fee must be paid when you register your vehicle or watercraft

What must all registered vehicles carry in their car at all time?

    Answer:  Proof of Insurance

What equipment are vehicles required to have in Utah?

    1. White License plate light
    2. Stop lights
    3. Red tail lights
    4. Safety belts
    5. Emergency brake
    6. Parking lights
    7. Bumpers
    8. Turn signals
    9. Headlights
    10. Horn
    11. Windshield wipers
    12. Safety glass
    13. Mirrors
    14. Brakes
    • What are the equipment your vehicle must not have?

     

      • Any red or blue light showing toward the front
      • Any siren, bell, or whistle
      • A muffler cutout
      • More than two fog lights
      • More than two extra driving lights
      • More than two fender lights
      • After-market sun screening devices are not approved for use in Utah
      • Front window must allow no less than 43% light transmittance

     


    Driving in Harzardous Conditions 7:02

     

     


    Basic Car Maintenance  

    CLASS 8

    END OF CLASS TEST

     


 

Class Schedules Tuition & Payment Enrol Online DMV PracticeTest Help & Resources

Copyright 2011: All Rights Reserved: National Driving School