1. What is “Utah Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibility Law”?
It requires that every resident owner of a motor vehicle, including motorcycles, shall maintain owner’s or operator’s security (proof of financial responsibility) in effect at any time the motor vehicle is operated on a highway or on a quasi-public road or parking area within the state.
Anyone who knowingly operates a motor vehicle, or permits one to be operated without owner’s security, is guilty of a class B misdemeanor and may have their driving privileges suspended or revoked and their vehicle impounded.
Motor vehicle insurance is the most convenient and least expensive way to comply with this law.
2. Explain the most important type of Insurance coverage available to motorist in Utah?
Bodily Injury and Property Damage Liability – Mandatory coverage that provides payment for injuries or damages caused through your negligence to another person or another person’s property.
Uninsured Motorist – Covers injuries to you and your passengers if you are in a crash that is caused by another driver who does not have insurance or by a “hit-and-run” driver
Personal Injury Protection (also known as “No-fault” or “PIP”) – Mandatory and provides some basic benefits and coverage for bodily injury to you and others without having to determine “fault” in a crash.
Collision – Covers repairs to your vehicle for damage caused by a collision, subject to a deductible, usually in a case when no other person is at fault. This coverage is not required by law, but is usually required by a lien holder.
Comprehensive – Cover repairs to your vehicle for damage caused by some reason other than collision, such as fire, theft, vandalism or glass breakage. This coverage is not required by law, but may be required by a lien holder.
Auto Insurance 101 - Part 1
Auto Insurance 101 - Part 2
Auto Insurance 101
3. What are the steps to take when involved in a crash? - If you are involved in a crash
1. Stop Immediately
You may be penalized severely for not remaining at the scene of a crash in which you are involved.
Your driver license could be suspended or revoked for up to one year
In addition, you can receive a jail sentence of up to one year, a fine of up to $2,500 or both.
2. Render Aid
If possible, find someone trained in First Aid. Until medical help arrives, you should avoid moving anyone who appears to be seriously injured unless such action is necessary to avoid further injury
You are required to render to any person injured in the crash reasonable assistance, including transporting or making arrangements for transporting of the injured person to a physician or hospital for medical treatment
If it is apparent that treatment is necessary
Or transportation is requested by the injured person
It is a 3rd degree felony for a person to fail to stop at the scene of an injury crash.
3. Traffic Clearance
If the crash results in property damage only and there are no injuries, the law allows for the operator of the vehicle to move the vehicle as soon as possible off the roadway or freeway main lines, shoulders, medians, or adjacent areas to a location on the exit ramp, shoulder, a frontage road, the nearest suitable cross street,
or other suitable location that does not obstruct traffic and requires that the operator remain at that location until all other requirements are fulfilled.
4. Contact the Police
If the crash results in injuries, death, or at least $1,500 in total property damage, you must notify the police, sheriff, or Highway Patrol as soon as possible.
This rule applies to all types of crashes, regardless of whether another driver was involved.
You may also be requested to provide insurance information to the Financial Responsibility Section, Driver License Division.
5. Exchange Information
The following information must be exchanged between drivers or other persons involved in the crash
Your name and address
Vehicle registration number
Your insurance information including agent or provider’s name and phone number
If the owner of an unattended vehicle is not available or cannot be found, leave a note providing this information
Name and address of the driver of your vehicle
Vehicle registration number of the vehicle that caused the crash
The operator of a vehicle that provides the information required to a police officer at the scene of the crash is exempt from providing the information to other person involved.
4. What is the Financial Responsibility Act?
Is designed to protect the public from losses due to motor vehicle crashes.
This law requires that you have your vehicle or yourself, as a driver, insured.
Failure to obey this law could result in the loss of your driver license, motor vehicle registration, and license plates.
To gain these items, you must provide proof of adequate financial security; pay required reinstatement fees, and fines up to $1,000
5. What are the steps for providing Security after a Crash?
There are two ways you can provide the required security after a crash in which you were at-fault driver:
Depositing money with the Financial Responsibility Section in the amount of the loss suffered by the other parties involved
Showing that at the time of the crash you were covered by such insurance, you must file one of the following:
Evidence that you have been released from liability by all parties involved in the crash
Evidence that you have agreed in writing to make payments for any damages or injuries suffered by the other party or parties
Evidence that you have been found not liable by a court of law
Evidence that the operator was in compliance with the operator’s security requirement
If your driving privilege is suspended under this act, it may be reinstated by complying with one of the above listed procedures
Or one year following the effective date of suspension, if no civil action arising out of the accident has been instituted
6. What are the penalties for failure to satisfy Court ruling?
A court may render a judgment against you for damages to other injured parties. If this judgment is not satisfied within 60 days after the court decision,
Your driving privilege will be taken away.
This rule may apply not only to drivers, but also to those who own or maintain the vehicle.
If your license is taken away, the suspension will be in effect until the judgment is satisfied and you have filed “future proof” of financial responsibility in the form of an SR-22
“Future proof” is evidence that you will be able to pay for any damage to others if you are responsible for a future accident
It is required if you have failed to satisfy a judgment as explained above or if your driving privilege is suspended or revoked for a violation of the motor vehicle laws.
This proof must be maintained for Three Years following the date of the suspension or revocation or, in the case of an unsatisfied judgment, three years from the date of reinstatement.
The most common way to file “future proof” is to furnish evidence that you are covered by an SR-22 automobile liability insurance policy.
7. What is an Uninsured Motorist?
If a vehicle owner is convicted of driving without insurance, is suspended for driving without insurance, or is identified in the computer files as having no insurance
The department of motor vehicles is required to revoke the vehicle registration unless insurance is purchased within 30 days.
8. What did the law required that all Motorists have in their vehicle at all times?
The law states that ANY TIME anyone operates a motor vehicle,
Proof of insurance for the vehicle or the operator MUST BE IN THE VEHICILE and must be shown to any peace officer that asks to see it.
9.What are the laws regarding release of crash information?
Crash reports are protected and may be released only as provided by the law.
A report may be released to persons involved in the crash,
Anyone they name as a representative,
Parents or legal guardians
Licensed private investigator
10. What are the crash information that can be released to the media?
Information released to the news media is limited to:
Name, age, sex, city of residence, make and model of vehicles